Volunteers in the Spotlight: Anna

We have asked our volunteers to tell us a bit about their experience of volunteering with CCN: what motivates them, what they do and whether they find it rewarding.

Here is what Anna has to say…

I first heard about CCN last September through another animal rescue I was volunteering with. I had mentioned to someone there that a cat was having kittens behind my garden wall and leaving them to die, and she suggested I ask CCN to trap and neuter her. I contacted Em for advice and she came to trap the cat in my garden and took her away to be safely neutered. She returned with her the next day and we set her free again. I was so impressed with CCN that I offered to volunteer and have since helped at an information stall in Maxi Zoo and have sold tickets for the new year draw. I have spoken with people in my neighbourhood about the extent of the feral cat problem and we are planning a bingo fundraiser in Pat Shortt’s (26th February 2015) to raise money and tackle the neutering of feral cats in Castlemartyr.

CCN is a fantastic charity and is buoyed by the energy and enthusiasm of its volunteers and advocates, as well as the support of local people in looking after the cat colonies in their area. 

Bingo 15 02 26

There are many ways to volunteer and support us to help the cats.  For more information, visit our volunteering page.  You can also join our “Helping Hands” Facebook group to keep updated of our various appeals.

 

Leave a Reply

