Volunteers in the Spotlight: Paudie

We have asked our volunteers to tell us a bit about their experience of volunteering with CCN: what is their motivation, what they do and whether they find it rewarding.

Here is what Paudie has to say…

I first started following Community Cats Network on Facebook as a cat lover who did not realise the extent of the feral cat problem in this country. I was not aware of the suffering and hardship most of these cats face throughout their short lives. 

By following CCN’s stories and updates I became very aware of it and, once aware, I knew I had to somehow help. At first I didn’t know how so I just made some random donations but then when I read the story of Pippin, the kitten with the deformed leg who was rescued and now needed a home, I offered to give her one.  

After taking in Pippin and making a contact within the charity, I wanted to help some more and started volunteering when I could to sell raffle tickets and calendars and do the occasional few hours at a stall or street collection. 

When I saw that CCN needed a Twitter admin, I offered and now update their Twitter feed daily with the latest news and inform followers of upcoming events. 

I am very happy to be a volunteer with Community Cats Network as I feel their work is so very important and under appreciated. I know that my cat Pippin would not be here if not rescued as, with her deformed leg, she would not have survived long as a feral. Every cat deserves a chance and that’s why I continue to help out where I can and intend to do more volunteering in the future as I know that every bit of help makes a difference and that the cats need us. 

Penny

There are many ways to volunteer and support us to help the cats.  For more information, visit our volunteering page.  You can also join our “Helping Hands” Facebook group to keep updated of our various appeals.

 

Leave a Reply

