Volunteers in the Spotlight: Sara C

We have asked our volunteers to tell us a bit about their experience of volunteering with CCN, what is their motivation, what do they do and whether they find it rewarding.

Here is what Sara has to say…

Why do I try and help CCN and do I do enough are the questions I ask myself.   I used to live in Cork and moved back 3 years ago and came across CCN via their Facebook page. I really wanted to help as this small charity really appealed to me as they are trying to solve the root cause of a big problem and not just rehoming or feeding – But how could I help?

I was working full time doing shifts, and I was going back to University and with other family commitments, was I going to put my name down as a volunteer only to end up letting someone down?

So how did I start? Well, I was lucky enough to have some spare money so I made a big food donation – ordered very easily from Amazon and I made the order at midnight during my other online shopping J – so I set my thoughts on the fund raising side of things.  I work for a large company and have got a wide network of friends in Cork – most of these people either move home, have family and changing interests and therefore now and then they have a ‘clear out’ in their homes.  This started with things like toys, books, games and soon moved on to bigger and better things including computers, office furniture and bikes.   I remind all my network regularly about my collections, especially if I hear someone is moving house ! and then I collect and store any goods in my loft ready for the better weather when car boot sales are at their peak.   I do some of these myself but I have also connected with another lady who runs a lot of sales and also sells a lot of the content via the web.

For my Secret Santa at work for the past few years a group of us now ask for a contribution to CCN and people have ‘gifted’ donations for me for birthdays.

When I compare myself to others, I don’t do much – I collect stock, I sell calendars at Christmas, I man a stall now and then, I source gifts for raffles – but I DO SOMETHING and I really believe that every little helps.

13 06 03 CBS Blarney crop

There are many ways to volunteer and support us to help the cats.  For more information, visit our volunteering page.  You can also join our “Helping Hands” Facebook group to keep updated of our various appeals.

 

Leave a Reply

